Mouse Trap!

Standard

I bet your thinking about playing the game mouse trap when you were a kid, and yelling that out when you won!  Well, this has nothing to do with that.  It has to do with the Pinterest Challenge done by Young House Love and BowerPower.  Two other amazing bloggers participate in this event as well, so go check out The Remoldeled Life and Decor and the Dog.  I’ve been reading about their Pinterest Challenge ever since they started these unofficial challenges.  Now that I have a blog, I decided…..Chica Get On That!  I need to quit pinning a bazillion things and actually put more of those pins into action.  I have way to many pins existing in cyber space.

So my inspiration came from Ella Claire and the awesome idea she did for her family room. We are in a redo of our teenage daughters room, and you know how teenagers LOVE to hang up photos, quotes, etc….  So in comes this cute design by Ella Claire that I saw that involves……

DSC_1111

Yes mouse traps!  I can’t stand mice, but this doesn’t involve any of those little creatures, so I’m in.

First you have to remove everything except the spring-loaded arm part.  You can just use a pair of needle nose pliers for this because everything pops off easily.

DSC_1109

Then you need to sand anything down that isn’t smooth on the face of the trap.  I had to smooth that little “V” and mouse point thing down.  Then paint them whatever color you want.  We picked white since her room is going to be white, beige, and teal.  (Sorry for the weird lines in the photo, but I paint on the torn trampoline mat that is still on the frame because our kids have outgrown it. It keeps it off the ground and works amazingly well.)

DSC_1113

Next decide what you would like to paint on the top portion.  You can select numbers, letters, designs, or just leave blank.  My daughter wanted her initials, so we picked a font she liked and did the letters the size we needed in Word with WordArt.  (Please excuse the beige tint in the pictures, I couldn’t get the white balance to work right.)

Next I colored the back of the paper with colored chalk so I could trace it on to the mouse trap.  You could also cut a stencil out on your Cricut or Silhouette.  I have a Cricut, but need a new mat and was too lazy to go to town.  You opt for Plan B when you live in the country, and don’t want to make the trek to town.  Therefore I did it this way.  Once you color the back of the paper (to make tracing paper), then place the chalk side down and trace around the letter.

mousetrapR

chalk

Here is the chalk letter that remains on the trap once you trace it.

Rtrace

Next paint your letter that you traced on to the trap. Pick a contrasting color so your design will pop.  I then sanded the edges and letter to give it a distressed look (since her room will have a vintage edge to it).

paint

Here is a close up of one of the letters so that you can see the distressing.

DSC_1121

Once she finally decided on pictures to put in the mouse trap clips, we printed them out on the computer.   We placed the pictures in the clip, and it holds it very tightly. We attached it to the board with those Command velcro type strips.  The ideas are limitless because you could hang kids artwork, memos, pictures, or quotes in these.

These were fun to make, and only cost under $2 for a 2-pack.  The paint we already had.  Scroll back up to the first paragraph and go check out all the other ideas on the linked blog sites.

mousetrapfinal

Decide what you need to hang on these cute clips and get to creating.  Remember…..

mousetrap

About Shannon

I'm a working mom who has a love for repurposing on the cheap. I work full time, take care of an elderly aunt and uncle, and still find time to fuel my creative juices. My hubby, G, is my greatest partner in marriage and creativity. He loves to weld and create out of metal. Together we cover all kinds of projects. I'm an engineer, and he builds equipment for manufacturing. So together we make an awesome team! We love to go junkin' to jump start our creative side on things we can make for our home. It's now becoming a family affair with the kids. They are really getting into creating items from stuff we find at flea markets. Both kids have picked up on the welding aspect, so now it's my turn to learn. I love to see their creativity blossom! Come look around this site, and join us on our creative adventure! We hope we encourage you to take that step and just get started. It's all about setting your creative spirit free!

Leave a Reply

